Mary Lynn McCree Bryan Leadership Award

This award celebrates the superb leadership of Mary Lynn Bryan by recognizing the tireless efforts of Cumberland County’s most effective nonprofit volunteer board members.  

Mary Lynn Bryan

This grant program seeks to reward and recognize exemplary nonprofit leadership by an individual board member and recognize the importance of the role of board members in an organization. Grants will be awarded for staff training and board development. Nonprofits in Cumberland County that have an annual financial audit are eligible to nominate a current board member or recent alumnus.

History and Past Winners

The Nonprofit Leadership Award merged with the Mary Lynn McCree Bryan Leadership Award in 2010. Going forward, this award will celebrate the superb leadership of Mary Lynn and also the tireless efforts of Cumberland County’s most effective nonprofit volunteer board members.

The Mary Lynn McCree Bryan Leadership Award was created on April 30, 1998 to recognize her volunteer service and outstanding leadership as a director of the Foundation.  She has been directly responsible for ensuring that Dr. Lucile Hutaff’s vision of what Cumberland Community Foundation could mean to the quality of life in this community endures. In the years spanning 1998 and 2000, three individuals were recognized for devoting extraordinary volunteer service and leadership to the development of the Foundation.

John E. Raper, Jr., First President (1998)

J. Wesley Jones, MD, 20:20 Vision Chairman (1999)

Charles vonRosenberg, Treasurer (2000)

The Nonprofit Leadership Award began in 2003 as a competitive award structured to encourage the adoption of nonprofit standards of excellence that were defined by the N.C. Center for Nonprofits.  Cumberland County nonprofit board members or recent alumni were nominated in a competitive process and the winner was selected based on their effectiveness in leading their organization toward best practices. The following is a list of winners.

James A. Kerchmar for Better Health of Cumberland County, Inc. (2003)

Howard Loughlin, MD for Child Advocacy Center, Inc. (2003)

Caren Payne for Fayetteville Animal Protection Society (2003)

Lorette Hollinshed for Cape Fear Botanical Garden (2004)

Harry Rulnick for Fayetteville Urban Ministry, Inc. (2005)

Willie Wright for Friends of the Cumberland County Public Library, Inc. (2006)

Joseph Boles for The CARE Clinic, Inc. (2008)

Les Griffin for Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra, Inc. (2009)

Rosemary Zimmerman for Child Advocacy Center (2010)

Merle Rainey Prewitt for Cape Fear Studios (2011)

Cindy Kowal for Cape Fear Regional Theatre (2012)

Elizabeth “Beth” Keever for Child Advocacy Center (2013)

Will Gillis for Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra (2013)

Lucy Jones for Child Advocacy Center (2014)


Application deadline is August 15, 2014.

All our grant opportunities are now online.  Use the following link to apply for this and other CCF grant opportunities: Click here

  • Some basic instructions for the online applications
  • Select “sign up” if it is your first time accessing the online application system.
  • Use the link in your confirmation email to return to the website and view applications.
  • Complete and submit the general application and then you can answer the supplemental questions for the specific grant opportunity.
  • The general application is connected to an applicant’s email address.  As long as you keep the same email address, you will only need to complete the general application once.
  • You may apply for more than one grant opportunity.


Tel: (910) 483-4449
Fax: (910) 483-2905
Mailing Address:
PO Box 2345,
Fayetteville, NC 28302
Physical Address: 308 Green St.,
Fayetteville, NC 28301
(Parking and entrance in the back)

Federal Tax ID #: 58-1406831